Here goes nothing!

The day has arrived! I’m all packed, and plan to leave the Island within the next couple of hours. My Mum and Dad are joining me on the journey up to Heathrow, where my flight leaves at 9.00pm. Mother wants to allow for any delays hence why we’re leaving ridiculously early!

 

The Burbs before I left the house this morning.

 
It still hasn’t sunk in that I’m planning to go to live and work in CHINA for a whole year. I have no idea what to expect other than an insane cultural learning experience. What do I want to achieve? I definitely want to learn some Mandarin (the most common language in China) and I plan to take proper classes while I’m there. I also would like to experience a new form of sport or exercise native to China, perhaps a martial art or something similar. Finally I want to travel, and use my apartment in China as a base. Hopefully my working hours and holiday will allow me to take short trips around many of the neighbouring countries (Japan, Indonesia and Vietnam are high on the list!) and also to be able to see much of the vastness of China!

So the plan for when I arrive is as follows: I arrive in Hefei at 11pm local time on Wednesday 28th (3pm GMT) where I am to be picked up and taken to my apartment. All I know is that a few of my new EF colleagues are going to be waiting for me and they will have everything sorted for my arrival. I’ll meet my roommate (All I know so far is that he’s an American chap called Steven) then get some sleep. The following day I’m going to be taking around the city and have all my paperwork and working requirements sorted. This sounds quite straight forward, gaining my Chinese residency, sorting bank accounts and phone SIM cards. I’ll hopefully be able to meet many of my colleagues that I’ll be spending much of the next however many months with!

I will hopefully have time, and a working internet connection, to keep my blog updated as regularly as I can, with my experiences, stories and pictures from working and living in the busiest country in the world!.

Please click the link below to automatically follow my adventure, where you will receive automatic emails every time I post something new!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

3 comments

  1. Elaine and Malc bricknell · October 27, 2015

    Good luck Dom xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sally & Terry · October 27, 2015

    Enjoy the experience, good luck on your travels, take care love Sally & Terry 👍🏼

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Deana Kendall · October 27, 2015

    Here you go again!!! Have another amazing experience xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

