Teaching English as a Foreign Language

So the second post of my blog moves on to where I am in my life right now. Currently I am 12 days away from a life changing adventure. I’m moving to China in which I will be taking up a job as an ‘English as a Foreign Language teacher’.

How I’ve came about this job is quite interesting of which I will briefly explain. As I mentioned previously I studied for a degree in Physical Education, with my original plan to become a teacher. During my second year of studies I realized that working within a state school environment just wasn’t going to be for me. That alongside my ever increasing love for health and fitness deviated my career towards getting myself qualified as a Personal Trainer. I set up my own business to take back with me to the Isle of Wight. I returned from University for a few months before I was scheduled to pack my backpack and travel to the other side of the world. Interestingly after working various temporary jobs I had a week to spare. So I looked into the possibility of taking a TEFL course with my original intention of it being simply an addition to my CV. I completed the online course within a week and gained a lovely PDF certificate (because I didn’t want to pay £10 for a glossy piece of paper).

Moving on, I soon went away travelling and didn’t look back! …But the inevitable happened and I returned jobless – albeit for about a week. I managed to pick up a bar job at my local pub, then a week later I got offered a job instructing fitness classes. I promoted my own business as well and I soon picked up some private clients to train. However months later and I was still working around 25 hours in the pub so I turned my attention elsewhere.

I saw an advert for a company called EF for the position of Activity Leader. I applied, got a call the same day then had an interview the next. I went along quite open minded. It soon escalated and the management noticed I had a TEFL qualification alongside a degree in education. I was subsequently offered a job as an English Teacher there and then.

Several weeks later I was with my first class, a mixture of Italian, Swedish and Finnish exchange students aged between 10-14. I had no idea what to expect but over the course of the next 3 months I was blown away. I’d had the best summers work of my life, met some amazing young people from all over the world and learnt so much about myself. I taught children from France, Spain, Italy, Sweden, Denmark, Germany, Austria, Finland, Hungary, Estonia, China, Hong Kong and Macau!

Sadly the season had to end as the children return home to their normal schools but I was hooked and so looked as to where this job could lead! I checked out the EF careers page and they were recruiting, so I went for it!

A couple of Skype interviews later and there was a job offer on the table. A years contract, working for EF China teaching English in the city of Hefei, Anhui Province. Watch this space!

Last day in school with a Chinese boy called 'Harry'

Last day in school with a Chinese boy called Harry, who had just given me a leaving present! 

Leave a Reply

